Simonstown beat Dunshauglin (A League)

Simonstown beat Dunshauglin (A League)

Simonstown 2-12

Dunshauglin 0-6

A League Division 1 (Round 2)

Simonstown Gaels maintained their promising start to their league campaign with a 12 point win over Dunshauglin in Simonstown on Thursday.  Simonstown Gaels Manager Colm O’Rourke swept the pitch of excess water 2 hours before throw in and his efforts were rewarded with the game going ahead. The game began with 2 Padraig McKeever points from frees. Shane Barry was again instrumental in Simonstown’s victory producing an excellent score in the first half to put Simonstown 3 points to the good. The O’Brien brothers combined well throughout the game and scored points to leave Simonstown leading 0-5 to 0-1  after 15 minutes. Simonstown scored a goal from the prolific Mark McCabe. Simonstown rounded off a solid first half display with points from Brian McGrath and Nicky o’Brien. Score at half time was 1-7 Simonstown 0-2 Dunshauglin

Dunshauglin began the second half with two quick-fire points. However their bright start to the second half was interrupted by a goal by Chris O’Neill. Chris O’Neill showed great courage rising above the Dunshauglin keeper and palming the ball into an empty net. This was quickly followed by a score by Shane Barry, leaving the scores 2-9 to 0-4 after 38 mins. Simonstown cruised to victory in the last 20 minutes with scores from Nicky O’Brien, Chris O’Neill and Nathan O’Brien. Best for Simonstown were Stephen Moran, Chris O’Neill, Nicky O’Brien, Mark Gardiner and Shane Barry. Next up for Simonstown is Sumerhill on the 12th March at 2:30 pm in Sumerhill (Round 3)
Simonstown Team: Robert Burlingham, Michael O’Rourke, Stephen Moran, Stephen O’Reilly, Brian McGrath (0-1), Joe Lyons, Neil Kane, Shane Barry (0-3), Séan Tobin, Nicky O’Brien  (0-3), Padraig McKeever (0-2 (2f)), Mark McCabe (1-0), Mark Gardiner, Chris O’Neill (1-1), Nathan O’Brien (0-2)

Subs:  Michael Brennan for Séan Tobin, Rory O’Connor for Brian McGrath, Aaron Geraghty for Michael o’Rourke, Niall McMahon for Neil Kane , Alex Brady for Mark McCabe, Dean Curran for Nicky O’Brien

Share This