Simonstown Overcome Summerhill (12th March)

Simonstown Overcome Summerhill (12th March)

Summerhill 1-9 Simonstown Gaels 1-10

Simonstown, Meath county champions, entered the field to a guard of honour from the Summerhill players. Simonstown were boosted with the return of Meath Under 21 Captain Brían Conlon in this A league division 1 fixture. It was a game of two halves with Simonstown playing with the aid of the breeze in the first half. Simonstown opened the game with scores from Nathan O’Brien and a free from Podge McKeever. Simonstown scored a goal 12 minutes into the game when Nicky O’Brien finished well past the Summerhill keeper Tony McDonnell. Simonstown continued their good start to the game with scores from Podge McKeever, Conor Sheridan and Mark McCabe. The wind played a huge factor in the scoreline at the end of the first half. Score at half time 1-7 -0-0.

Simonstown began the second half playing into a strong wind with Summerhill playing with the wind for the first time. Summerhill quickly got on the scoresheet with a point from Barry Dardis and 3 frees in the first 10 minutes of the second half. At times, Simonstown Gaels struggled to get out of their own half and Summerhill had many periods of dominance in the second half. Barry Dardis scored a magnificent 45 halfway through the second half to leave the scores Simonstown 1-8 Summerhill 0-7. With 15 minutes left Simonstown’s Nathan O’Brien and Podge Mckeever were able to score crucial points to leave Simonstown 1-10 t0 0-9 up going into stoppage time. Summerhill refused to give up with Barry Dardis scoring a screamer past Robert Burlingham with minutes remaining. Simonstown were able to hold on and won the game 1-10 to 1-09. Best for Simonstown were Conor Sheridan, Padraig McKeever, Nicky O’Brien, Stephen Reilly and Brían Conlon.

Robert Burlingham, Shane Gallagher, Stephen Moran, Stephen Reilly, Neil Kane, Brían Conlon, Brian McGrath, Shane Barry, Conor Sheridan (0-1), Nicky O’Brien (1-2), Joe Lyons, Mark McCabe (0-1), Mark Gardiner, Padraig McKeever (0-5(4f)), Nathan O’Brien (0-1)

Subs: Michael O’Rourke for Shane Barry (28mins), Chris O’Neill for Joe Lyons (40mins), Rory O’Connor for Conor Sheridan, Colin Wickham for Brian McGrath.

Share This