Simonstown Share The Points (Senior)

Simonstown Share The Points (Senior)

Simonstown Gaels 0-14

Dunshauglin 0-14

This game was the curtain raiser for the first round of the championship on the 8th of April. If this game is anything go by then spectators will be in for a treat. Dunshauglin proved to be very tricky opponents and opened the scoring with 3 unanswered points in the opening 10 minutes. The awarding of easy frees was a recurring theme of the first half and Simonstown’s Chris O’Neill and Ben Hoey were clincial from the deadball sharing 5 of Simonstown’s 7 points of the first half. The Gaels found it difficult to prevent Dunshauglin from registering scores and powerful running from the half back line enabled them to break the Navan’s men half back line. Simonstown and Dunshauglin exchanged scores throughout the first half and this left the scoreline Dunshauglin 0-8 Simonstown 0-7.

With the sunlight dwindling, it was very difficult at times to see players in space. Nicky O’Brien entered the scoresheet with 2 quickfire points in the opening 5 minutes of the second half. O’Brien showed great trickery to evade the Dunshauglin players and composure to record his first scores of the match. Chris O’Neill added to his tally with a point and a free. Nathan O’Brien equaled his brother’s tally of two points with a penetrating run into the Dunshauglin back line. Simonstown looked in control of the match when Shane Barry scored to leave 3 points between the sides. The Gaels had a chance to win the match with 5 minutes remaining when Chris O’Neill rounded Dunshauglin’s Adam McDermott. O’Neill’s shot hit the side netting and Dunshauglin responded heroically with 3 unanswered points. In the dying moments Dunshauglin’s perseverance and persistence were rewarded and the game ended in a pulsating draw.

Simonstown and Dunsahuglin will play each other on the 8th of April in the first round of the championship. This game cannot be missed! #SimonstownGaels

Robert Burlingham, Mark Devlin, Stephen Moran, Brian McGrath, Neil Kane (0-1), Mark Gardiner, Roz O’Connor, Sean Conlon, Nicky O’Brien (0-2), Shane Barry (0-1), Joe Lyons, Ben Hoey (0-4 -3f), Chris O’Neill (0-4 -3f) , Nathan O’Brien (0-2)

Subs: Eanna Donoughue for Sean Conlon, Micky Brennan for Nathan O’Brien, Michael Gavin for Nicky O’Brien


Picture Gallery


Share This