Simonstown Start With Victory

Simonstown Start With Victory

Simonstown Gaels 4-10 (22)

Dunshauglin GAA 0-12 (10)

Simonstown played against Dunshauglin today in Pairc Tailteann in the first round of the championship. The first half was very tight with both teams exchanging scores throughout. Dunshaughlin started brightest with 3 unanswered points in the opening 5 minutes. However the Gaels soon registered on the scoresheet with an expertly taken free from Sean Tobin in the 6th minute. His Meath teammate, Padraig McKeever, quickly entered the scoresheet with a fabulous score from play. Padraig McKeever showed great pace and strength to get away from his marker and found himself one on one with the Dunshauglin keeper. McKeever showed great composure and awareness to handpass the ball across to the supporting Shane Barry who duly palmed the ball over the line for the first goal of the game. Dunshauglin responded with 3 scores from play in a 7 minute period which left the score tied. Séan Tobin was lively troughout and recored two scores before the interval, Maniac 2000 (Mark McCabe) also scored a ‘worldly’ of a point on the stroke of half-time. The O’Brien brothers were lively troughout and scored a point a piece in what was an entertaining first half. Score at half time was Simonstown 1-8 Dunshauglin 0-8.

The Gaels began the second half with a renewed sense of purpose. The Gaels quickly scored 2 goals which transformed the complexion of the game. Nathan O’Brien was able to palm in from close range after a good support run and Mark McCabe scored his trademark ‘Crouchy™’ goal. The Gaels now found themselves 9 points to the good and widened the gap when Padraig McKeever expertly finished past the Dunshauglin keeper. The old adage goals win games is particularly true in this game. best for Simonstown was Nathan O’Brien, Séan Tobin, Padraig McKeever and our new captain for the year Níall Kane.

Next up is a great battle against Dunboyne.

Robert Burlingham, Mark Devlin, Stephen Moran, Niall McMahon, Brian McGrath, Brían Conlon, Níall Kane, Roz O’Connor, Mark McCabe (1-1), Nicky O’Brien (0-1), Shane Barry (1-0), Séan Tobin (0-4 1(f)), Nathan O’Brien (1-1), Padraig McKeever (1-2), Mark Gardiner

Subs Used: Joe Lyons for Rory O’Connor, Chris O’Neill for Nicky O’Brien, Eanna Donoughue for Mark Devlin, Stephen O’Reilly for Brian McGrath.

Share This