Simonstown Win Seamus Heaney Cup

Simonstown Win Seamus Heaney Cup

Simonstown Gaels 0-11
Navan O’Mahonys 0-6

Simonstown played against a stiff wind in the first half and were very pleased to be losing by just two points at the break. The wind was not conducive to free flowing football but it permitted dogged defending and resolute tackling. O’Mahonys began the game well with a sublime 45 from Cathal Smith and a good score from play from Shane Gillisipe. They added 2 more scores and led by 4 after 13 minutes. Andy Kearney was an outlet in the forward line throughout and he registered the North side blues first score of the game. James Heaney scored the sentimental point of the game, scoring in his grandfather’s tournament. Heaney (captain for the day) looked determined and purposeful throughout the game and ran tirelessly up and down the pitch. The remaining scores of the half came from O’Mahony’s Duggie Dillon and the mercurial Nathan O’Brien of Simonstown. Score at half time was Simonstown 0-3 Navan O’Mahonys 0-5.

Buoyed with the aid of strong wind Simonstown started the second half extremely well. The Gaels opened the half with scores from Podge McKeever, Andy Kearney and Nathan o’Brien. The pick of the scores came from Nathan O’Brien who twisted and turned the O’Mahony’s backs. Nathan O’Brien scored from an impossible angle and this ensured the Gaels led for the first time in the match. Not to be outdone, Ben Hoey caught a high ball and on the turn swiveled and pointed from distance. Simonstown now led by two and with the support of the wind they remained in the ascendancy for the rest of the match. Scores from Shane Barry, Mark McCabe, Padraig McKeever and Andy Kearney established a healthy winning margin. Amazingly all of Simonstown’s scores came from play. Next up for Simonstown is Dunboyne next Sunday.

Robert Burlingham, Mark Gardiner, Stephen Moran, Ian O’Rourke, Brian McGrath, Brian Conlon, Michael Gavin, Mark McCabe(0-1), Conor Sheridan, Ben Hoey (0-1), Padraig McKeever (0-2), James Heaney (0-1), Shane Barry (0-1), Andy Kearney(0-3), Nathan O’Brien(0-2).

Subs - Nicky O’Brien for Shane Barry, Sean Conlon for Nathan O’Brien

Share This